2016 Recipients

Chairman's Award
Steven A. Wilson


Steven A. Wilson has been a passionate voice, a tireless advocate and a tremendous leader for the
University of Cincinnati, the UC Foundation and the UC Alumni Association for more than four decades.

Steve’s journey as a volunteer began shortly after receiving his BA and MBA from UC as he became involved with the university’s alumni association. He donated his time and talents to several college advisory boards and Dean’s committees while supporting the development efforts of the Carl H. Lindner College of Business and UC’s athletic programs.

Steve’s passion for UC led to his appointment to the Foundation’s Board of Trustees where he was instrumental in preparing the Foundation and its board for the quiet phase of the Proudly Cincinnati campaign. Shortly after the launch of the public phase, Steve began serving as the board’s chair. During his time as chairman, Steve also volunteered to serve as the Foundation’s interim president, holding these responsibilities for 16 months.

Thanks to Steve’s tireless efforts in both positions, the Proudly Cincinnati campaign concluded that same year, having exceeded its goals for funds and donor participation. To honor his “uncommon dedication, remarkable sacrifice, and immeasurable passion for his alma mater,” in the words of Dr. Santa Ono, Steve was presented with the university’s Presidential Medal of Excellence at the 2013 George Rieveschl annual dinner.


Trustees' Award
James P. Jurgensen, II


Jim Jurgensen II is the CEO of the Jurgensen Companies, which for eight decades has been a regional leader in heavy highway construction, sewer and storm pipe installation and asphalt production and paving. Working with his father, Jim established the first Heavy Civil Construction Endowed Professorship in the UC Department of Civil & Architectural Engineering & Construction Management (CAECM) within the College of Engineering and Applied Science, with a substantial initial gift from the Jurgensen Companies. His efforts during the past four years have led to additional gifts and pledges of just under $1 million.

Jim is very involved with the development of “The Academy of Construction Management” initiative, serving on a special sub-committee created to review and update existing CM curriculum. Jim also serves as Chairman for Flexible Pavements of Ohio and was a past president of the American Society of Highway Engineers.


Group Philanthropy Award
Ride Cincinnati


Ride Cincinnati was founded in 2007 by Dr. Harvey Harris, his family, and two friends whose lives had also been impacted by breast cancer. Ride Cincinnati is the signature fundraising event for breast cancer awareness and research in the greater Cincinnati Region.

The annual event is dedicated to the life of Harvey’s wife, Marlene Harris, and to the belief that through research, we can work together to spare others the pain of losing a loved one to breast cancer. To date, Ride Cincinnati has donated $1.4 million to support the continuing research efforts of the faculty at the University of Cincinnati Cancer Institute (UCCI). Since the inaugural event, nearly three dozen pilot research studies have been funded at UCCI. With more than 2,000 riders each year, Ride Cincinnati provides a strong boost in community awareness of both the UCCI and its comprehensive breast cancer research program.


UC Foundation Staff Award of Merit
Jeri B. Ricketts, PhD


Jeri B. Ricketts, Associate Professor Emeritus of Accounting and Director of the Carl H. Lindner Honors-PLUS Business Program, has had a career spanning 35 years at UC. Jeri created a unique academic curriculum designed to shape future business leaders within the Lindner Honors-PLUS Program (LHP).  Jeri also established the LHP advisory board with supporters who have a keen understanding of philanthropy. Jeri has not only secured major gifts from Lindner benefactors but has engaged parents, students, and alumni in fundraising initiatives. Her efforts, and the generosity of LHP’s enthusiastic donors, provide nearly $500,000 annually.

In September 2016, nearly 500 business partners and program alumni gathered for a celebration to establish a Director’s Endowment in Dr. Rickett’s honor. The event raised close to $800,000 to kick off the $2.5 million campaign for the endowment, which will provide sustainable quality leadership in the LHP Director’s position for generations to come.


Student Philanthropy Award
Sara M. Whitestone


Sara Whitestone is everything you want a Bearcat student leader to be. During her time at
UC, Sara drew on personal experience to become an extraordinary advocate for students with disabilities. She established two organizations, Sara Spins and UC’s Alliance for Abilities. Sara Spins is a non-profit organization founded in 2012 that provides students with the tools and technology they need to pursue their dreams of higher education. The Alliance for Abilities is the university’s first student group focused on making UC a campus that is completely open and accessible for all students.

Sara graduated this August with bachelor’s degrees in Neuroscience and Communications. She is now studying in an international Master’s of Neuroscience program at the University of Bordeaux in France.


Past Recipients

Chairman's Award 

2015 John B. Goering
2014 Phil D. Collins
2013 Kirk Perry                       
2012 Jerry P. Leamon
2011 Sandra W. Heimann
2010 Anthony J. Perzigian, PhD
2009 Jeffrey P. Williams
2008 James C. Kautz
2007 George L. Strike
2006 Timothy E. Johnson, PhD
2005 Jeffrey L. Wyler
2004 Otto M. Budig, Jr.
2003 Brian H. Rowe
2002 Joan R. Herschede
1999 Reuven J. Katz
1998 Marjorie Hiatt
Thomas H. Humes, Jr.
1997 J. Clay Stinnett
H.C. Buck Niehoff
1996 Sigma Sigma
1995 James A.D. Geier
1994 Donald E. Becker
Robert J. Herbold
1993 Jack E. Brown
Dorsey W. Jones


Trustees' Award 

2015 Michael McGraw
2014 A.J. “Gus” McPhie
2013 Ed and Jean Wedbush
2012 Todd C. DeGarmo
2011 John M. Tew, Jr., MD
2010 Larry A. Sheakley
2009 Cora K. Ogle
2008 Robert E. Dobbs
2007 James J. Amann
2006 John Cuppoletti, PhD
2005 Gary E. Menchhofer
Margaret K. Valentine
2004 George J. Wile
2003 John B. Goering
2002 Roger H. Zanitsch
1999 S. Jay Stewart
1998 Nancy R. Hamant
1997 Eugene R. Allspach
Lamar L. Kerr
George A. Kralovich, Jr.
1996 James C. Kautz
1995 James A.D. Geier
John J. McDonough
1994 Frances D. Cohen
Jack L. Kopinsky
1993 Mary Ellen Betz
James E. Sauls, Sr.


UC Foundation Staff Award of Merit  

2015 Cady Short-Thompson
2014 Caroline Brotherton-Miller
2013 William Mulvihill
2012 Linda E. Bledsoe
2011 Steve Rosfeld
Judy Rowe See
2009 William E. Henrich
2007 Richard W. Bauer



Group Philanthropy Award

2015 Friends of CCM


President's Medal of Honor  

2013 Steve Wilson       


Student Philanthropy Award 

2015 Jack Kelly
2014 Andrew Harmon  

Your support of UC and UC Health can write the next piece of history.

UC Firsts

Developed in 1906

Ready to Invest in Another UC First?


Through Jacob
Hoffner’s estate to
the city, UC received
statues of two lions,
“Mick and Mack.”

Ready To Leave Your Mark on UC?
Choose an area of support today.

UC Among "Nation's Best"

Top For
Education For
7th Straight Year

Princeton Review, "The Best 379 Colleges"
2015 Edition

You can change lives at UC and UC Health.
Make a gift today!

Invest in our talented people, outstanding research, academic programs, beautiful campus and more.


Give Now



Contact Us

The University of Cincinnati Foundation
PO Box 19970 | Cincinnati, OH 45219
513-556-6781 | 888-556-8889
513-556-4300 (fax) | ucfoundation@uc.edu


University Hall, Suite 100
51 Goodman Drive | Cincinnati, OH 45219

Sign Up For Email

You'll get timely updates on news, events and more from the UC Foundation.

Sign Up Now


UC Foundation Privacy Policy

Copyright Information | © 2017 University of Cincinnati